There are three types of people

We read a very interesting piece posted by the lead singer of The Eureka Machines on Facebook recently. It began like this…

This week, Tulisa’s debut album entered the midweek charts at Number 17, despite her position as a judge on supposedly the most popular programme on the telly.

A few weeks ago, No Doubt … sold 680 copies of their single, after appearing on said TV show to 10 million people.

The Ginger Wildheart album I was involved in earlier this year went in the midweek charts at Number 5, with no press fanfare, no hype and no TV. Just an independent guy who has worked hard and built up a fanbase WHO CARE ABOUT MUSIC.

Chris Catalyst went on to summise that there are two types of people in the world; those who care about music and those who care about marketing. Well, in answer to this, I say ‘Nay, Chris, there is another type of person’: Those who are compelled by both.

I am one of those people. I’d also say that most of my friends are those people. How can I be sure? Because they favour balance over fanaticism. So, as Chris astutely points out, we’re not just talking about music here. He says, “For every ten faceless Starbucks will spring up one independent coffee house, run by people who care about coffee and buns for people who care about buns. For every hundred flashy Hollywood blockbuster CGI fests will spring up one homegrown self-funded film with a thousandth of the budget but with ten thousand more ideas.”

But, rather than condemning high street chains (and those that shop in them) and resolving only to buy from homegrown entities that care about their product or service, I choose both. Effectively, what I choose is choice itself; I choose balance and I choose pragmatism. I mean, I’ve probably watched as many small, independent productions that I couldn’t wait to end as I have box office hits that blew my mind.

Let’s not forget that Starbucks, once upon a time in Seattle in the 1970s, was an independent coffee house run by people that cared about coffee. And let’s be real; how many young start-ups or independent film makers with no budget do you think say to themselves, ‘I really hope that I remain unnoticed by the general populus and I never make it big’?

In a world where the ‘big four’ (whether that be supermarkets, accountancy firms, or countries) run the show, yes, let’s not forget about the little guys who often have the biggest ideas. But, let’s also acknowledge the salesman in all of us and the important role marketing has to play. After all, what are ideas without the backing to make them a success?

Leave a Reply

